Educator’s Challenge #1 – What’s your creed?

For my first challenge to educators, I would like to read a personal belief statement.  I spent some time today thinking about why I am not able to sign on to STAR3… and the answer is… it goes against my personal beliefs.  Many of my beliefs come from and/or align with the Auburn University Creed.  When I attended Auburn’s orientation camp I was consumed with the pride and enthusiasm that Auburn students and faculty share.  I love the words and I love the community that the creed creates.  I have a beautiful framed copy in my classroom and I reference it for myself and my students often.  I hope that others will share words that they live by.  Perhaps by recognizing our beliefs, we can begin to evaluate how the jobs that we do align with those beliefs. If you participate, please tag me.  If you want to read more and try other challenges, please subscribe to this blog.

THE AUBURN CREED

I believe that this is a practical world and that I can count only on what I earn. Therefore, I believe in work, hard work.

I believe in education, which gives me the knowledge to work wisely and trains my mind and my hands to work skillfully.

I believe in honesty and truthfulness, without which I cannot win the respect and confidence of my fellow men.

I believe in a sound mind, in a sound body and a spirit that is not afraid, and in clean sports that develop these qualities.

I believe in obedience to law because it protects the rights of all.

I believe in the human touch, which cultivates sympathy with my fellow men and mutual helpfulness and brings happiness for all.

I believe in my Country, because it is a land of freedom and because it is my own home, and that I can best serve that country by “doing justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly with my God.”

And because Auburn men and women believe in these things, I believe in Auburn and love it.
-George Petrie (1945)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Educator’s Challenge #1 – What’s your creed?

  1. Forrest says:

    So, for the sake of discussion, what about your creed precludes you from supporting Star3? I imagine that someone could reference the same creed to voice support for the grant program.

  2. dancecookie says:

    Good question.
    I believe in education, which gives me the knowledge to work wisely and trains my mind and my hands to work skillfully. I do not believe in teaching to a test, which is what I believe teachers will choose to do, or feel pressure to do, in order to make the bonuses.

    I believe in honesty and truthfulness, without which I cannot win the respect and confidence of my fellow men. Which is why I cannot continue to work for a school that is making claims to be “arts infused” and A+ when there are very few teachers who are actually teaching with REAL arts infusion (writing a song is a great teaching tool, but in order to support music curricula the teacher must actually emphasize musical principles… same thing with dance making). I would feel guilty if I told a parent to send their child to a school based on false claims. By the time they realize that what we said isn’t true, that child has lost a year of education that might have been enriched by attending a school that can back up their claims.

    I believe in a sound mind, in a sound body and a spirit that is not afraid, and in clean sports that develop these qualities. Which is why I can’t support a program that will increase the anxiety level of students and teachers and fosters fear.

    I believe in my Country, because it is a land of freedom and because it is my own home, and that I can best serve that country by “doing justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly with my God.” Which is why I can make the choice to not be a passive observer as the state of education crumbles.

    Honesty is really the key here. I feel like I have not been told the whole truth all along so that makes me nervous for what parents know about the current state at our school. I used to feel motivated to defend our school against attacks, like when people questioned our administrator’s dignity in the wake of Mr. Surridge. I would happily stand up for Mr. Fulton because he made everyone feel like an insider to the “business” of our school He motivated people to take on extra because we felt that we were really making a difference by doing so. Now, I feel like we are being doled out more and more responsibility/busy work because we can’t be trusted to do what’s right. The “business” of our school has become more government like, which means we’re talking a whole lot, and doing very little.

Leave a Reply

