The Mother Theresa Type

Don’t let the title fool you… I definitely DO NOT consider myself a Mother Theresa type.  I do, however, try to live by several quotes by her.  One being:

“Go out into the world today and love the people you meet.  Let your light shine in the hearts of others.”

I love this quote because it causes you to think before you speak or judge.  Judging is a tough one for me because I tend to think strategically and judge situations quickly.  On the other hand, I rarely judge people.  I have found, through study in The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People by Sean Covey and my training in Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friends and Influence People, that judging people often leads to solitude and rejection.  I try to embrace people unconditionally.  This has brought me great friendships over the last 15 years.  I have many friends of various backgrounds.  It has also allowed me to win over students who are naturally suspicious of a white woman.

Although it is difficult to imagine a world where everyone loves everyone else, I refuse to lose hope.  I believe that if I show love to those whom I encounter (no matter how brief) it will have a ripple effect.  As I prepare for yet another Monday, which always prove surprising, I also prepare myself to love the people I meet.  I also have to prepare my light to be brighter than it might naturally be, so that the many light snuffers will have to work extra hard to snuff me out.

I end with another fav:

We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.
Mother Teresa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

